Parks Centennial


Join in Celebrating a Century of the Best of Iowa

Nearly one hundred years ago a group of leading and dedicated Iowan’s began what has become one of the finest (but undernourished) State Park systems in the country – Iowa led the way for the Nation.  Today’s 82 State Parks and recreation areas reflect that it is time to lead the way again and celebrate the 100th anniversary of Iowa State Parks.  We are asking you to partner in the effort and find a way that you can help in the celebration.

Ways to Help Celebrate

Past Events and News

Iowa Parks Foundation Leadership

Thank you to the Centennial Celebration Committee (CCC), a small group of dedicated private citizens for donating time and effort to help Iowans celebrate State Parks.

  • Kevin Szcodronski – Former Director of the Iowa State Parks (2003 to 2013).
  • Ann Raisch – Former Iowa Parks Foundation and Trees Forever Board member. Park enthusiast from Eldora.
  • Mark Ackelson – Former President of the Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation, Secretary of the Iowa Parks Foundation, Board Member of Land Trust Alliance.
  • Gerald Schnepf – Founding President of the Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation, and former Executive Director of Keep Iowa Beautiful.